Classical flute recital at Sugar Hall Sunday

Flutist Kei Toguchi is presenting his unique recital collaboration at Sugar Hall, Sunday.

The classical works of Gaubert, Bach, Schubert, Ravel and Prokofiev are set to be performed by Kei Toguchi’s Flute Recital at Sugar Hall in Nanjo City, this Sunday.

Neil Calder

Kei Toguchi, who last collaborated on a mix of classical music, Okinawan dance and his flute seven years ago here, created the coming flute recital to introduce a new generation to both the instrument’s beauty and the pleasing sounds of classical music.  Joining him at the recital is another flute player, Neil Calder, Vice President for Communications and Public Relations at the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology.

The afternoon will include discussions and explanations, and even a time for mixing and mingling with the musicians.  Both before the recital, and during the intermission, wine and a light bite to eat is available.

During the recital, Okinawa dance with Shinjo Kinjo, ballet by Yu Egami, flute, piano performed by Sachiyo Tsurumi and a DJ,Tetsuji Hiroyama, will come together on stage with flutist Kei Toguchi, inspiring each other and making a

Sachiyo Tsurumi

whole new way of expressing music.

Toguchi recalls “It has been seven years since I held my recital of Breeze from Vienna at Sugar Hall in 2007. Relocating my base of operations to Okinawa, I have been spending many days in trial and error, spreading my wings to tell people how wonderful and profound classical music is.”  The flute master notes that “In this recital Breeze from Vienna Vol. 2, I would like to convey my enthusiasm for further challenge based on my experience from these seven years.”

In the program, which consists of pieces showing various fascinating aspects of the flute, Toguchi says “I contribute a collaborative piece of Ryukyuan traditional dance and western classical music. In seeking the meaning of laying western classical music in Okinawa, this program is intended to discover new potentials of Okinawan art culture through communication with the arts of other countries.”

Shinjo Kinjo performs Okinawan dance as part of the collaboration.

The program includes Philippe Gaubert: Fantasy, J.S. Bach: Partita for unaccompanied flute, Franz Schubert: Introduction and variations of “Tricken Blumen”, Maurice Ravel: Pavane for a dead princess (in collaboration with dance), and Nikolai Prokofiev: Sonata for flute and piano

Toguchi adds that “As both dancer and choreographer, we will have our special guests, Shinji Kinjo, a traditional Ryukyuan dancer, and Yu Egami, a dancer from the Hong Kong Ballet,” promising a great event.

The performance takes place at Sugar Hall in Sashiki, Nanjo. Tickets are ¥3,000 for adults and ¥1,500 for school students over elementary school age.

Doors open at 2 p.m., and a 15-minute pre-performance talk starts at 2:15 p.m. and the concert at 3 p.m.




22:49 22 Jul , 2024